Come fly with us

The friendly skies chair

I remember the first time I caught a charter plane. It seemed it was the smallest airplane in the world and it landed on a tiny runway tucked away on a remote atoll in the Torres Strait Islands.

As we bounced down the grassed airstrip, with the bright blue ocean racing towards us, I held my breath and shut my eyes, and could hardly believe it when we finally came to a gentle halt just before the grass gave way to sand, waves and coral reef.

The deep sky-blue of this fabric reminds me of that first flight, and the incredible adventures that followed it.

What adventures lie in store for the future owner of this chair? I hope that they and their dreams take off!

airplane fabric

Airplane fabric, by Etsuko Furuya, for Kokka

Leave a Reply

